2016 READING CHALLENGES

Reading challenge_4

I’m excited about a new reading year and I’ve already prepared notes for the numerous challenges I’ll try to tackle this year. Some are old friends by now, but some challenges I’m trying out for the first time. I’m afraid I went slightly overboard with them, but as some categories overlap it may not turn out as crazy at it seems at the moment. I do reserve the option to back out of some if I figure out my study schedule won’t allow for so many books, but that’s life.

My goal is to read 100 books in 2016, now for a 4th time in a row. 😀 I’ll try to read more non-fiction books, authors from different parts of the world (more African and Asian authors), and translated works. I don’t know if I’ll read many books in my mother tongue – I’m not familiar with contemporary Slovene authors at all and I should change that – I’ll try to do better which is all I can say.

I’m still waiting for the 2016 Bralnica reading challenge (from Slovene readers’ forum) to be released to finalise everything but this post lists all the challenges I’m going to participate in beside my own monthly challenges – those will be revealed each month to allow for some flexibility. 🙂

So let’s take a look at the challenges. 😀

xwu6x3KO

500 Banned Books Badge 2016

fof-button-2016

  • Read Harder 2016
  • Hosted by: BookRiot and Rachel
  • Commitment: 24 books
  • Status: 0/24
  • Chunkster Reading Challenge 2016 (+450 pages)
  • Hosted by: used to be hosted by Chunkster Reading Challenge, doesn’t seem to be a thing in 2016
  • Commitment: 25 books
  • Status: 0/25
  • Non-fiction Reading Challenge 2016
  • Commitment: 25 books
  • Status: 1/25

So, what are your reading goals for 2016?

8 responses to “2016 READING CHALLENGES

  1. Pingback: BOOK BLOG DISCUSSION CHALLENGE 2016 | swytla·

    • Hi, fellow reading challenge overachiever. 😉
      I tend to read on my own. I’m not always in the mood for the books the group reads or I’m busy catching up to other challenges and choose books that fit multiple categories – hence my unpredictable reading choices. I’m trying to finish past years winners as well, so it’s unlikely I’ll read all books from 2016 list.

  2. Awesome! I’m participating in the banned books challenge also! I can’t wait to check out what banned books I’ll be checking out this year!

  3. Pingback: Commenting 365 Challenge Update #5 | Rabbit Ears Productions Blog·

  4. Pingback: Commenting 365 Challenge Update #6 | Rabbit Ears Productions Blog·

Leave a comment