New to Me Authors Reading Challenge

authors

My January reading challenge will have me reach for new authors that I’ve never read before. πŸ˜€ I’m excited about exploring new voices as a fresh start in my reading year. It’s also a way to tie me over until my series reads release new books.

As you already know, I have a list of six books and a goal of finishing four. My choices appear somewhat random but there’s a method to my madness – these books fit several of my reading challenges. Can you guess which?

january_1

  1. Fingersmith by Sarah Waters
  2. The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah
  3. Catch 22 by Joseph Heller
  4. Brain Maker by David Perlmutter
  5. The Girl With All the Gifts by M. R. Carey
  6. Doctor Zhivago by Boris Pasternak
6 responses to “New to Me Authors Reading Challenge

    • Haha – yes, I left a reply to their post. I hope my goal oriented approach to reading doesn’t scare them off – not everyone finds reading challenges exciting. πŸ˜‰

  1. I plan on reading The Girl with All The Gifts, which I saw a while ago on Goodreads/Twitter/whatever. The plot seemed really good, and I really enjoy psychological/thriller/mystery/murder (I think that’s what I remember the plot to be about?) I haven’t read a “scary” book in a while so that will be a good one to kick off the new year!

    • I’m reading it right now and it certainly is scary and more of a psychological thriller than a usual dystopia. Well, zombies that can talk and behave like actual human beings scare the s–t out of me, so yeah definitely a nightmare-inducing book with a unique perspective. Hope you like it.

Leave a Reply

