Diversity Reding Challenge – Finished

diversityMy challenge this month was to read books that feature characters of colour or LGBT characters. It was a fantastic challenge that made me reach for books that I may otherwise read at some later time, but pushing them to the top of my TBR pile was so worth it. I really liked them and I’ll definitely read more books with diverse characters. I’m lucky the publishing industry is promoting them nowadays, so there’s many to choose from. 😀

I’ll definitely read more of Octavia Butler since her brand of sci-fi is right up my alley, and I like to see characters with different cultural backgrounds and situations in life in my books. If a character appeals to me with their personality, I don’t care about their ethnic or racial identity. Nonetheless, it’s always a good thing to read authors who give you a new perspective on things you’ve not thought much about, or which doesn’t affect you personally.

Asian settings appeal to me, and there’s no shortage of books to chose from , so I found two that fit in my other reading challenges. 😀

diversity_1

Leave a Reply

