Blog discussion challenge – Buying books: do you have it under control?

discussion_2

I’m participating in a book and reading oriented discussion challenge hosted by Nicole @ Fed Your Fiction Addiction and Shannon @ Starts at Midnight.

BUYING BOOKS – DO YOU HAVE IT UNDER CONTROL?

Topic of 29th March

No, not at all. Does anyone?

Buying books is all part of being a reader – we need to support our writers and buying books does just that. 😉 We love libraries but actually owning a book is sooo much better.

I get a real craving for new books wherever I set foot in a bookstore. It’s like a compulsion to get at least one paperback. Let me loose on the internet and I just might empty my VISA… but I manage to impose limits to my spending and I try to take advantage of discounts whenever possible. It pays off to wait for promotion codes and book fairs. I usually write down titles of books that caught my eye in the bookstore and check their ratings on Goodreads before plunging ahead and bringing them home. It helps and also keeps my spending in check… but a visit to the library is one of the best ways to avoid needless purchases. (Yet are there any needless books? I’m not sure. There are books we don’t like but the ones we bring home can’t be needless.)

The one thing that will definitely stop me from a book shopping spree is entering a bookstore with an almost empty wallet – ever tried that? It is torture but you won’t be tempted to buy more than you can afford. It also helps to know before-hand what to buy. I limit myself to that particular book, but I browse the hell out of anything else. Internet bookstores on the other hand are my new vice…they are downright dangerous for my wallet and they really test my resolve. I bought 35 books in 2015, which is a personal record. So now I have to read at least one from this list before buying a new book.

Despite my claims to having a book buying weakness, my personal library remains modest compared to some bloggers. Then again I don’t have that much money to splurge on physical books and a really limited shelf space. I own many second-hand books – they are so much cheaper than new ones and you can get them in good condition as well. If I really love a book or an author, I’ll buy new paperbacks or go for e-books. But if I’m sure I’d like the book and wish to save – second hand is the best option. I know lots of bloggers get ARCs thus saving money on books, but I’m not prepared for such a commitment at the moment.

I like to read classics since there are so many free e-book versions, but I do wish I had enough money to own the entire Oxford Classics collection. My first salary will be celebrated with books from that list, you can bet on it.

In a way my book spending will never be under control. I already pity the person who will inherit my library… if I start to seriously collect books the number might reach 1,000 titles in a couple of years (should I ever buy a winning lottery ticket or have a huge salary at my future job – fantasy realm, I know, but I’d love to buy as many books that I can.) Just imagine seeing all the books you’ve read in your life in one place – wouldn’t that be something?

sarah_andersen_books

Leave a Reply

