BLOG DISCUSSION CHALLENGE – Have you considered writing a book?

discussion_2

I’m participating in a book and reading oriented discussion challenge hosted by Nicole @ Fed Your Fiction Addiction and Shannon @ Starts at Midnight.

 HAVE YOU CONSIDERED WRITING A BOOK?

Topic of 1st March

Yes, I have. *blushes* I even got several notebooks of ideas, outlines, and all kinds of research for a story I thought up in high school. Those are kind of embarrassing now but yes, I’ve thought up a lot of stories since then. Nothing written down or published, but the ideas are there. Maybe one day when the lure of already written books isn’t as strong and I don’t need to focus on my studies. I have one story in particular that is constantly in the back of my mind. It would be one of those epic fantasy types, but limiting it to a trilogy or just one longer book wouldn’t hurt. Let’s stay humble.

World-building is so much fun that I get lost in it sometimes – I just imagine everything so vividly, almost like a movie. (Perhaps a script would be a better idea? No? Oh well…) It is kind of necessary to set limits and focus on one thing at the time whereas my thoughts jump all over the place when brainstorming about characters. Different countries, technology, historical setting, diversity of characters regarding genders, sexual orientation, culture etc. Then come the fantasy elements and it just gets out of hand. Perhaps it is several books that I’m writing at the same time? A large and diverse cast = limit on the world-building and history. Perhaps my ideas aren’t so bad, but I always want to write everything down perfectly and this saps my writing juices like nothing else; as if I never heard of revisions and second drafts. *rolls eyes* “Patience, young grasshopper” one could say. The trouble is I know all that and yet I still want everything to be perfect in the first go, to start and then build up from there without major changes to the story later on.

THE HELP

Skeeter Phelan (Emma Stone) in “The Help”.

I have an unfinished LOTR fanfiction story, so maybe I can call myself a writer? A lot of early readers enjoyed it but I think I’ve gotten better at English and the story needs a huge overhaul to make it decent in any way now. It’s turned into one of those things you always feel guilty about. I do hope to finish it one day, so I’d have at least one project I can be proud of.

I’ve participated in a number of NaNoWriMos but somehow forcing myself to write during a school year isn’t a good idea. The blank page defeats me every time. I may write, but not 1667 words a day. I’m not ready to churn out good material by word count. Writers always say practice and have a routine. The trouble is I’m a night owl and the clicking on the board turns kind of loud once I get into it and speed-type. Writing by hand is almost out of question since my writing turns cramped and almost illegible the faster I write – let’s face it, thoughts are always faster than the hands. I’d love to have the luxury of writing through the night and sleeping in the morning, but my family would never understand that, early birds that they are.

Becoming an author is one of my secret wishes. I hope to fulfil it one day.

12 responses to “BLOG DISCUSSION CHALLENGE – Have you considered writing a book?

  1. I have lots of stories started, but I never finish any of them. I totally failed at NaNoWriMo. I’ve learned that dreaming about it and doing it are two different things, and I just have to motivate myself to finish something.

    • “I’ve learned that dreaming about it and doing it are two different things”

      ^This. It’s nice to hear I’m not the only one.

  2. I majored in writing in college and had great dreams of being a published author some day, but real life got in the way and I got sidetracked 🙂 Maybe someday! Good luck with your own writing goals and dreams!!

  3. I may be the only book blogger here whose dream is not to become an author xD I used to write a couple of one-shot fanfiction and it’s okay. Then I tried to write one of those really-long fanfiction, and I failed. I always lose idea in the middle of the story, and no matter how long or how hard I think, the idea won’t just come. That’s when I know I’m not into writing-book, and more into writing my opinion (like reviews). Anyway, I hope you will be an author someday 🙂

    • Thank you. 🙂 Writing opinions and shorter fiction still makes you a writer, just not one in the strictly old-fashioned way. I treat my blogging as some form of practice; writing coherently and with proper punctuation takes some time to master after all. 😉 But yeah, I still dream of holding my own book in my hands (academic theses for school don’t count even if they are hardbacks).

  4. I LOVE that you have such a strong sense of worldbuilding – that can often be one of the biggest hurdles with writing, so you’re a step in the right direction. Don’t give up on your dreams – just write as much as you can for now and keep plugging away at it!

  5. Love this topic! Like you, I definitely DO want to write one. I have… part of one, I guess, from NaNo. But it’s hard. My problem is actually the opposite- I want to write things, but I feel like my imagination and/or creativity is NOT up to par. But time is also a struggle for me, so I know how you feel in that regard. Hopefully one day we will both have the time to devote to it!

  6. Good for you taking part in all those NaNoWriMos Swytla! I also want to write a book and have never come around to take part in one 😦
    School and writing a book… big challenge so it is to have a family of early birds lol ! Hope you find a way soon though 🙂

  7. I definitely have considered it. Ever since I was a kid, I have not just loved reading but writing as well. I had my own Wattpad accound and published stories there in sixth grade for a whole year until I got tired of it. Then I continued on to writing private stories I don’t plan to show to the public – at least, not yet. Though most of my recent novels are incomplete drafts. xD

    I do have one plot idea in mind that I’ve been dying to write lately, but don’t have the time to do so. Hopefully I can get it started soon!

  8. I love writing, and I love the idea of being an author, but I’m pretty sure I couldn’t write fiction, even though that’s what I love to read. You’re right, that all the blog writing (and even academic writing) you’re doing right now are still helping you get there, because you’re building skills you’ll need to write a full novel!

Leave a Reply

