Standalone Books Reading Challenge

standalone_1

February will be the month when I’ll read books that stand on their own, not being part of any series, trilogy, or collection. There’s something satisfying in finishing a book and not waiting for a sequel. I almost forgot how that feels but the few books form my January reading challenge reminded me of this fact. 😀

This category does mean I’m probably not going to read many series this month. As I’m participating in the Sequel and Prequel reading challenge and haven’t really collected many points for it, it feels kind of daring to assign half of my usual reads to the non-series kind. However, I’ve got enough series reads planned this year that I can easily catch up or just use a month for only series reads as well.

Once again, my goal is to finish four reads from the list, and in my new fashion I’ve listed two non-fiction books.

February_1

Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances by Neil Gaiman

All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Red Chamber by Pauline A. Chen

East of Eden by John Steinbeck

Reflections on a Revolution in Europe: Immigration, Islam, and the West by Christopher Caldwell

In Order to Live: A North Korean Girl’s Journey to Freedom by Yeonmi Park

 

2 responses to “Standalone Books Reading Challenge

  1. Good luck. A lot of the book series I start takes me a very long time to finish. Like take the Hitchhiker series by Douglas Adams for example. I’m pretty sure I started reading the series at the end of 2014, and i’ve read 3 out of 5? of the books so far. I think there’s 6, but it could be a novella.

    • Thank you.
      I understand you perfectly – I’ve got a crazy amount of series I read and there are new exciting ones published each year. It’s one of the reasons for my participation in the Prequel/Sequel challenge. I hope to finish the most pressing ones on my TBR list. I’m pretty sure I started a couple of them in 2012 – it’s going to be crazy remembering all the names…

Leave a Reply

