Thriller Month Reading Challenge Ends

month_1I can proclaim my monthly themed reading challenge a success! 😀

I’ve set my goal at 4 books and I managed to read 6, although one book was really short. I’m only sorry I didn’t stick to the planned list more – I’ve changed one book from Stephen King to two and skipped Silence of the Lambs. Frankly, I don’t consume so many thrillers at one time and it began to affect my dreams a bit. Nothing nasty or unpleasant but I certainly felt the effects of the adrenaline rush and the nastier aspects of human psyche a bit more. I decided to be prudent and read other books in between my thriller challenge books and skip Hannibal Lecter. So I read The Shining…I should probably admit to not seeing the movie. It certainly lowered the scary and psychotic potential of the book.

I’ve posted reviews both on Goodreads and my blog. The links are here for those who wish to read the reviews now:

  1. Dracula (Bram Stoker)
  2. The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde (Robert L. Stevenson)
  3. Dangerous Girls (Abigail Haas)
  4. I Hunt Killers (Barry Lyga)
  5. Nightmares and Dreamscapes (Stephen King)
  6. The Shining (Stephen King)

My favourite book is Dangerous girls which I rated with 5 stars, but a close contender for the first place is I Hunt Killers. I’m certainly going to read more books from both authors in the future. I need a short break form thrillers for now… maybe I’ll try fantasy. Romance enrages me too much.

Now I’m gonna cuddle up in my bed and crack open a book in my mother tongue. It is a way to honour the Reformation Day (a day dedicated to Protestant accomplishments and a National holiday in Slovenia) and Primož Trubar who wrote and published the first book in Slovene language in 1550. Protestants gave Slovenes our first book, forming the basics of our written tongue and grammar, uniting the various dialects into one common tongue. Protestants made it clear Slovene is on par with Latin and perfectly capable of translating the Bible. Not bad for a nation with 1-1.5 million speakers at that time.

halloween

I’ll announce my future reading challenge plans on 1st November. Enjoy Halloween if you celebrate it.

Leave a Reply

