World Sight Day

WSD15_logo_Starter

I wear glasses for my short-sightedness since my 7th year. I know what a pain it can be to not have perfect vision; one of my fears is my vision deteriorating, ending in blindness. As a very visually oriented person and a passionate reader that is heartbreaking. My vision is bad enough that I would have serious trouble recognizing people in the street without glasses. I can’t even read the words I’m typing on my computer right now – it’s only possible if I enlarge it to 36pt. Therefore I fully support World Sight Day.

World Sight Day is celebrated to raise awareness on blindness and vision impairment. It was created by the World Health Organization and is celebrated in many ways. Some people show support by planting trees, others publish photographs and other media focusing on blindness, fund raisings, book readings and a number of other awareness raising material. Restoring vision to people is one of the greatest things in the world. I’m happy I live in a place that enables me to get what I need to participate in my society.

Some statistics:

  • Approximately 285 million people worldwide live with low vision and blindness – 39 million people are blind, 246 million have moderate or severe visual impairment
  • 90% of blind people live in low-income countries
  • 80% of visual impairment is avoidable – readily treatable and/or preventable
  • Restorations of sight, and blindness prevention strategies are among the most cost-effective interventions in health care
  • An estimated 19 million children are visually impaired
Leave a Reply

