BANNED BOOKS CHALLENGE

Untitled

I’m participating in the Banned Books Challenge for the first time this year and it’s been a fun experience so far. It’s easy to find books to read in various genres with the help of the lists organisers of the challenge offer on their site. I was also surprised when I created a new bookshelf on GR that I’ve read a lot of banned books in the past years. I never would have imagined I was such a ‘rebel’.

The reading challenge itself offers you 5 levels of commitment:

  1. Making Waves (1-2 books)
  2. Trouble-Maker (3-5 books)
  3. Rabble-Rouser (6-9 books)
  4. Rebel (10-14 books)
  5. Leader of a Revolution (15+ books)

I’ve decided to try for the last level – so 15 books is a must. Considering my yearly goal of 100 books this is easily doable, especially when these books fit into my other reading challenges. I’ve managed to read 12 books already, so my goal is not far off now. 😀 Only 3 books now, so one a month. Easily done for me, I hope.
bann_2

Here are the books I’ve read from January to September 2015 (links are to my reviews on GR):

  1. Fahrenheit 451 (review)
  2. The Bell Jar (review)
  3. I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings
  4. A Clockwork Orange (review)
  5. The Grapes of Wrath (review)
  6. The Scarlet Letter (review)
  7. Les Liaisons Dangereuses
  8. Slaughterhouse-Five (review)
  9. The Crucible
  10. 1984 (review)
  11. Flowers for Algernon (review)
  12. Lord of the Flies (review)

bann_3

Leave a Reply

