Currently Reading – Grapes of Wrath

4395I’ve turned my focus on classics this month once I realised I’m behind on my 1001 books challenge. Considering time restraints, it’s best if I read shorter works, but something pulled me towards Steinbeck and his Pulitzer winning epic about the Great Depression – Grapes of Wrath. It is a fascinating book with a view sympathetic towards the little people.

The novel focuses on the Joads, a poor family of sharecroppers driven from their Oklahoma home by drought, economic hardship, & changes in financial & agricultural industries. Due to their nearly hopeless situation, & in part because they were trapped in the Dust Bowl, the Joads set out for California. Along with thousands of other “Okies”, they sought jobs, land, dignity & a future. (GR summary)

The novel is a staple in American high school and college literature classes. I already see why and why it is very much relevant in this time and age. It’s a bleak, depressing world the family lives in, and it’s made worse by people taking advantage of their situation. It’s hard not to feel enraged by the callousness of people. The family is filled with ‘characters’ with obvious faults and idiosyncrasies so I haven’t found a favourite yet, but I sympathise with the women mostly. I hope to finish the novel this month. 😀

Leave a Reply

