Chinese New Year

Chinese-New-Year

I have a fascination with other cultures and the various calendars they employ. The shifting lunar calendars are an endless source of wonder and bemusement to me. I can’t wrap my head around the idea of a calendar changing from year to year. Of course, it can’t be all that impractical when people happily employed it for millennia, but still, to a modern girl it sounds somewhat confusing. I like my solar year, even with leap years and other oddities. 😀

Chinese New Year is a big deal in Chinese-influenced cultures despite the regular use of the western Gregorian calendar. I find the usual customs when celebrating the new year either charming, wonderful, or impractical, and confusing. I love the profusion of red since it is one of the colours that draw me in and regularly features in my attire, but I don’t hold with petards and other loud devices. I breathed a sigh of relief when my country banned them – I’ve had some nasty experiences in my old neighbourhood. But I digress.

article-0-16DA14C8000005DC-930_634x436

I love the charms like those seen above and one below. Families might cut them from red paper (I’ve linked an article about that), and decorate their homes, work places, or rooms with them. It’s like their Christmas time. 😀 I bet the celebrations in China towns around the world will be magnificent.

But what does their astrology say about the year ahead?

luck

2015 is the year of the sheep. The Sheep (Goat) is an Yin energy, a symbol of Peace, Harmonious co-existence and Tranquility. That is the primary and fundamental mood for this year. It will be a year of banding together in faith and in belief that good will prevail and win out over the forces that refuse to comply to a peaceful way of life.

Sounds great, doesn’t it? 😀

Leave a Reply

