Currently Reading – American Gods

meme_3

I’m still finding an emotional equilibrium after finishing Golden Son, the 2nd part of the Red Rising trilogy by Pierce Brown. I love the series and I can’t wait to read the 3rd book that will be published in 2016. I hope it is as good as the first two books were. 😀 I devoured them almost in one go and that is pretty rare for me since I read several books at the same time on a regular basis (as noted in previous posts). I know there must be flaws in those books, but I was under their spell and couldn’t find any. Even the mistakes the protagonist makes didn’t annoy me – I was just scared and completely immersed in the tale. I love it when that happens. 😀

18161930Now I’m having something of a book hangover and that is an undesired side-effect of finishing a great read. I don’t have a clue what to read next – nothing stands out in my TBR pile, nor on my bookshelves. This made me turn to my open books that I haven’t finished yet. I started reading several books a month ago (or just put in a bookmark when deciding on my next read) but then I put them aside – one of them is American Gods by Neil Gaiman. I don’t know if it was the fact that I had to take a physical copy with me every time I went home for the weekend, or the length that made me give up at some point. I read a couple of chapters today and I think I’ll finish it this week. Shouldn’t be a problem when I read Cryptonomicon in a matter of days and THAT is a mammoth of a book.

I have a feeling this year is going to be one of those years when I’ll systematically go through 800+ pages long books. It has happened before but I fear I’ll burn out and be reduced to frantic reading of books with less than 150 pages in December when I’ll be several books behind my reading challenge goal (also happened).

Ahem, I’ll try to finish the book and not start any other. In fact, I’ve removed a huge pile of books on my nightstand in order to minimize the temptation (and to have space for my glasses and smart phone – it was getting a bit out of hand, truth be told). No promises though – there are several new releases people have written glowing reviews about that caught my eye. But more on that next week, hopefully.

2 responses to “Currently Reading – American Gods

  1. I know what you mean about December and 150-page books. Hehe.

    On the other hand, I love Neil Gaiman and American Gods is my favorite book of his so far! 😀 Hope you’ll enjoy it!

  2. Oh, good. 😀 I’m not the only one.
    I hope I enjoy it too – the start is promising and I’m more familiar with his style nowadays so any philosophical elements shouldn’t be too hard to crack.

Leave a Reply

