Science Fiction Day

nationalsfdayI’m a big fan of science fiction – the traditional kind of science fiction like Jules Verne, Ursula K. Le Guin, Frank Herbert, and the dystopia subgenre. Space operas and books which focus on the technical side of things too much don’t appeal to me as much as books that explore different cultures, the implications of space travel and time-lapse, and so forth. I’m glad the genre has its own day although the chosen date is a bit close to the new year celebrations to me. I usually need a day or two to refocus my mind from the past, stop contemplating the finished year.

January 2nd was chosen because it is the birth date of a prominent science fiction writer Isaac Asimov. He wrote or edited more than 500 books and is considered a master of hard science fiction. I read two of his books: I, Robot and Foundation I. I plan to read more in the future. 😀 Fellow fans of science fiction celebrate the day by either reading books or having a movie marathon of films like Ridley Scott’s “Alien” or Garth Jennings “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy”. I’ll do that next year.

science-fiction-vs-proper-literature

Leave a Reply

