Top Ten Tuesday

Top ten_6

Ten Books I Almost Put Down But Didn’t

 This meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

I love this meme – I remember lots of books that I had mixed feelings about during reading. It wasn’t hard to compile it at all. There are certain books that I ended up hating, but I don’t regret finishing them at all.

tumblr_mgqk47Wz2n1qzj51vo1_500

1.Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien

Amazing, isn’t it? This is one of my favourite trilogies but I almost didn’t finish it at first. I got stuck somewhere in the first book but I pushed on and I never regretted it since. Perhaps it was the translation, or the writing style that gave me pause; I loved the characters though, so I read on.

2.A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

This book is emotionally exhausting in the best way. Reading it is hard on a person and thus best done in small implements.

3.Mary Barton by Elizabeth Gaskell

I fought through this one until it suddenly turned fascinating and the last half just finished itself. But I loathed the first part of it.

4.The French Lieutenant’s Woman by John Fowles

Boy do I have issues with this one – I grit my teeth and battled through to the bitter end. Wouldn’t do it again, to be honest but it was one of my challenge reads and a book I owned.

tumblr_lsuk49E7Dl1qbuxk3o1_500

5.A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

This book is a fascinating read, really, but Dickens goes about the plot in a very frustrating way, so I was tempted to put it down. I was really glad I did not, but then again, I got used to his meandering storylines when reading school-assigned books.

6.Perfume by Patrick Süskind

This book gets almost too brutal very fast, so you’ve got a choice to make – read on or abandon it. I took some time to deliberate then I came to the conclusion that my curiosity outweighed the horror factor and I finished the book.

7.The Enchantress of Florence by Salman Rushdie

I couldn’t read other books by this author to the end before, so I was apprehensive picking up another one. Surprisingly, I could finish it with minimal trouble. It did give me a headache at one point or another, so it wasn’t smooth sailing at all.

8.The Long Earth by Terry Pratchett

This book has an amazing idea going for it but the execution of it is far from perfect. I wanted a different ending and more action in between. It get’s kind of boring, so I was tempted to put it down at least once.

9.The Master and Margarita by Mikhail Bulgakov

Suffice to say I was dying to close this book – it’s one bizarre thing after another.

10.The Tree of Life by  Christian Jacq

This story did not grip me as much as I hoped it would; I was tempted to put it down repeatedly because I figured out how events would go most of the time. Well, let no one say I’m a quitter.

2 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. The Long Earth isn’t my favorite Pratchett book by a long shot, but I did enjoy it. Might be the escapist in me–wouldn’t stepping be fun?

    I still have to read Tale of Two Cities… someday.

Leave a Reply

