Top Ten Tuesday

top ten_9

Ten Covers I’d Frame as Pieces of Art 

This meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

I love gorgeous covers and I’d definitely frame some of them to admire at all times of the day. If I could get them in larger poster formats as well, I think I’d soon run out of blank wall space. 😀 It may not surprise you then that I’m not overly fond of covers that rely heavily on models and photography. I like proper illustrations with paint or pencils, although graphic design is sometimes as impressive as hand-drawn work. Children’s books offer the highest variety in this sense, but there’s really no shortage of stunning designs for other books as well. I’ve tried to find as many covers in my book collection as possible, but I also chose books I don’t yet own.

Books I own:

1.To Kill a Mockingbird (Harper Lee)
2.Help (Kathryn Stockett)
3.The Two Towers (JRR Tolkien)
4.Geisha, the Life (Mineko Iwasaki)

5.Northern Lights (Philip Pullman)
6.The Lacuna (Barbara Kingsolver)
7.Dinotopia (James Gurney)

Don’t own:

8.Tigana (Guy Gavriel Kay)
9.Hourglass (Myra McEntire)
10.Od Magic (Patricia A. McKillip)

6 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday

    • Dinotopia is full of gorgeous illustrations – you may have trouble deciding which one to frame! The cover is simply amazing, I agree. 😀

      Your TTT choices are wonderful – different from mine, but wonderful. Did I spot a new Harry Potter cover? I must see the rest of this edition.

  1. Patricia A. McKillip’s book covers are so lovely. They remind me of a couple of covers for Juliet Marillier I have on my list. I’m pretty sure they are done by the same artist.
    My TTT

    • Yes, I’d say it’s the same artist. OMG – those two covers are amazing. How didn’t I find them before?
      Lovely choices – lots of figures and frothy fabric. I like them. 😀

Leave a Reply

