Top Ten Tuesday

top ten_12

Top Ten Characters Who I’d Love to Meet and Befriend

This meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Now who never fantasized about meeting a character or several characters from a favourite book? I certainly do when they prove to be particularly fascinating, exasperating, or admirable people. There’s also a number of magical beasts I’d shake a paw/claw with, but I’ll restrain myself to characters of the human variety. Be warned – if I could, I’d list everyone from Middle Earth. 😀 That is a universe populated with the most human of characters be they elf, dwarf, hobbit, or man.

Characters I’d love to befriend:

Hero_06_lyra_c1.Lyra Belacqua from His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman

Now this is a strong young girl I’d always want to have on my side. I really loved her in the books and her daemon Pan. They were such a great team and full of brilliant ideas. Her stubbornness appealed to me and her desire to learn the truth, no matter how painful was truly inspiring. I’d love to have a daemon of my own – it’s such a cool concept!

2-3.Annabeth and Percy from Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan

Percy-Annabeth-percy-jackson-and-annabeth-chase-35647070-1920-1080Now this is a power pairing  and no mistake. I believe that you can truly appreciate them when they come together – Annabeth’s smarts and Percy’s heart are one of the central points of the series. Not that other characters are not impressive in their own right, but those two are my favourites. If you are counted among their friends you’re truly lucky.

Ender_Wiggin4.Ender Wiggin from the Ender’s game series by Orson Scott Card

He’s really a child when we first meet him, but by the end of book one he’s grown beyond any imaginary limits you can think of for him. He’s a complex character yet also someone you’d be lucky to count as a friend. Compassionate, loyal, and driven, he’s an unexpected result of his environment and manipulation by the army. The movie doesn’t come even near to show us the complexity of the story and Ender.

images (1)5.Atticus Finch from To Kill a Mockingbird by Lee Harper

As one of my blog readers already stated, Atticus is a man you’d be a fool to not marry or at least befriend. He’s a kind, compassionate, smart man who is also a fantastic father to his children. I was blown away by the character because it was such a different portrayal of a father figure to what i was used to read about in books. I’ve already complained about the abnormal amount of orphans in youth literature already, so to see a dependable father figure help his children through life was a boon I did not expect. 😀

6.Anne Elliot from Persuasion by Jane Austen

Sally+as+AnneShe’s my favourite Austen heroine. She does not lead an easy life; being constantly at her family’s beck and call, and not appreciated enough for her own mind and talents. The majority of people just assume she is a shy grey mouse and proceed to tread upon her. Big mistake – her compassion masks a very determined, deeply loving heart. She is a person you can depend on at any time, even going against her family when she feels it is only right to do so. There isn’t a haughty bone in her body.

I believe she’d make a fantastic friend, someone who’d understand other’s fears and insecurities and gently coach them to step up and be free of them. That she loves books and writing is just another plus.

7.Hermione Granger from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

tumblr_maks9slW5t1qjcyb2o1_400Now this is a strong woman and magic-wielder. I firmly believe the series is focused on the wrong hero – Hermione is a much better fit. She figures out things for the boys, finds new spells, befriends key people, is stubborn enough to research things for weeks, is competent in a crisis, calm when needed, and a very good friend. I was so shocked when she got paired up with Ron – it felt like such a cheap move on the author’s part. They have so little in common personality-wise I can only wonder at the appeal. But yes – I’d love to have her as a friend. She may be bossy and a bookworm, but that can hardly be described as fatal failings. 😀 I bet she knows things that would make the boys faint with shock.

8-Aragorn_2_-_FOTR9.Gandalf and Aragorn from The Lord of the Rings trilogy by JRR Tolkien

It was so hard to choose when there are so many wonderful characters. In the end I had to go with the wizard and the Ranger. Aragorn is a character I’d probably be to intimidated to count as a friend easily, knowing what I do about his destiny and past. I guess the man has an exceptionally warm heart once he accepts you, so there’s nothing to worry about. He does like his companions on the quest and is a most loyal friend to various people. I guess he would be most accessible when in Rivendell, during one of his extended stays with his adopted father, Lord Elrond.  But better not keep him from his love, Lady Arwen. ;D

THE HOBBIT: AN UNEXPECTED JOURNEYNow Gandalf is a friend you must be wary off because he will sweep you up into a quest quicker than you can say ‘Istari’. He does mean well, though. Still, a wizard is a friend with unpredictable moods and tempers, so better keep him supplied with Shire leaf and good wine. I believe he hides behind his image of a wizard and in truth knows hot to enjoy life – as seen during Bilbo’s party. Fireworks and dancing, indeed. :D

10.Aibileen from The Help by Kathryn Stockett

Minnie and AibileenI love this character for her quiet strength, patience,determination, and forgiveness. The way she took care of that little girl was so heartbreakingly beautiful, I can hardly describe it in words. I’d love to have her a s friend – I bet she knows so many pieces of advice, you’d never be without helpful ideas in your life. She’d be a marvel when raising kids as well, but her dep understanding of human nature is what gets me every time.

I’d like to mention Minny as well, because she’s also a character from the book I adore. She’s my honorary 11th character in this list. Now that is a woman you need to be wary of even when she’s your friend. She’s not mincing words, that one! 😀

4 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday

    • Yes, I’ve read the article and felt so vindicated for my deep disappointment when they were suddenly a pair. 😀 I admit I didn’t see it coming and was confused at the sudden turn in their friendship. Harry is a better choice for her even if far from ideal – she’d be happy with an older guy, I think.

      Gandalf is amazing – and he’s got such a wicked sense of humour. I’m always tickled pink when he snarks at the hobbits.

  1. Pretty much an Austen heroine would make a good friend, I think. They tend to be bookish and understanding–though there’s plenty of secondary characters I’d never want to befriend!

    • So true – there’s always a nasty relative or two to make you rethink meeting them in real life. I believe the women are the worst usually, but they are only the product of their environment. Little education and lots of stupid ideas about life and romance do that to most people.

Leave a Reply

