Life, blogging, and writing

Ahem…

I’ve been absent from this blog for some time and only posted the Top Ten Tuesday meme, which was scheduled in advance, so really this is the first time in about three weeks I’ve been on my blog. It’s school and general mayhem of life that’s keeping me from being more active at the moment.

I hope I can rectify this soon and write several reviews and movie posts. I think I’d love to share my thoughts about a couple of series that recently wrapped up (The Walking Dead, Selfridges, Call the Midwife) and movies I really enjoyed. I’m still on the lookout for a good korean drama, but I think there will be time enough for that during holidays. 😀

Talking about series…

I can’t wait for the next episode of Game of Thrones because the first one really went by in a whoosh. I was just getting into the story when it was over. Just like that. I know there’s a ton of characters to follow in one episode but c’mon! I want more! This barely whetted my appetite after a long wait. I don’t know for sure (having not yet read the books), but I think this year is going to turn some things around for the Lannisters. Can’t wait!

My other hobby…

I’ve slowly started to write again. It’s all because of Juno’s Magic Tumblr blog I started to follow a month or two ago.

WHENEVER YOU SEE THIS POST ON YOUR DASH, STOP WHAT YOU’RE DOING AND WRITE ONE SENTENCE FOR YOUR CURRENT PROJECT.

Just one sentence. Stop blogging for one minute and write a single sentence. It could be dialogue, it could be a nice description of scenery, it could be a metaphor, I don’t care. The point is, do it. Then, when you finish, you can get back to blogging.

If this gets viral, you might just have your novel finished by next Tuesday. (link)

I just felt so guilty seeing this post and how often she updates about her own projects that I decided enough is enough and opened up a new word file and just plunged in. I’m currently rewriting my longest ever writing project – Alone in Anórien, a LOTR fanfiction with a self-insert character. People still leave comments despite seeing the fic almost completely abandoned. The writing in the earliest chapters is atrocious by my current standards so I’m cleaning it up, rewriting whole passages, taking control of the tenses and descriptions and generally having a good time again. 😀 It’s slow-going, but I do manage to write around 1,000 words every other day. I have high hopes that I’ll manage to write the doomed 22nd chapter and finish the story.

So, how you’ve been these weeks?

Leave a Reply

