Top Ten Tuesday

top ten_10

10 Gateway Books in My Reading Journey

This meme is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

I’ve never come across this term before – gateway book. It’s pretty self-explanatory in a way; a gateway book is a book that got you into a genre, a book that started your reading journey in some way, or one that keeps you reading more and more. Looking back, there’s a ton of books that I read as a child or had them read to me. Choosing just ten is an impossible task; I’ll try to list only the most important ones. As usual, I’ve divided the list into three categories.

Books that me a fan of British classics:

1. Sherlock Holmes by Arthur Conan Doyle
– it got me into the detective genre
2. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
– it’s a book that has me reaching for Regency romance time and time again. Somehow romance reads better when it is set in the past.
3. Tess of the D’Urbervilles by Thomas Hardy
– a book that broke my heart and made me a fan of the higher literary art.

Books that made me a fan of fantasy:

4.  Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling
– a no brainer, it’s a book that made me a fan of magic and YA genre. I still have a weakness for such tales and often reach for similar YA titles.
5.  His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman
– a YA book with a complicated philosophy
6.  LOTR by J.R.R. Tolkien
– a jewel, the one book that turned me into a lifelong fan.

Books that made me a fan of historical fiction:

7. The Accursed Kings by Maurice Druon
– a series that had me devouring book after book set in the Middle Ages . I’m on the lookout for a similar series ever since.
8. The Help by Kathryn Stockett
– a book that made me realise books set in the southern states of US can be a lot of fun, especially ones dealing with the servants’ point of view.
9. The Name of the Rose by Umberto Eco
– who doesn’t like a story of crime set in a monastery. It’s a fantastic book.
10. Bobri by Janez Jalen
–  Slovene book set in the prehistoric times really made me think about history and people before the written word. Just hom many rich epics are we missing from our lives because we have no source to draw from?

One response to “Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

