Top Ten Tuesday

top ten_4

10 Books That Will Make You Swoon

It’s time for a new meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

I’m not exactly a fan of romance books, being more interested in fantasy plots, but I still have favourite books that make my heart beat faster. I’m not all that sure I’d lose my wits over them, or need old-fashioned smelling salts. If I were ever to meet their heroes in person, though, I’m pretty sure I’d swoon just a little. 😀

1.North and South (Elizabeth Gaskell) – Mr. Thornton is a complex character and I’ve had a weakness for him ever since I saw him portrayed by Richard Armitage.

2.Pride and Prejudice (Jane Austen) – Mr. Darcy is the ultimate swoon-worthy man

3.The Lord of the Rings (J.R.R. Tolkien) – Aragorn, Eomer, and Faramir. Who wouldn’t want to meet these men and combust from the utter perfection of their characters?

4.Dead Until Dark (Charlaine Harris) – vampire Eric Northman is both dangerous and magnetic. I’d be too scared to get near him in RL but reading about him makes me swoon every time. 😀

5.The House of Hades (Rick Riordan) – the guys are basically super sweet, dependable guys (although way too young for me now). Percy is my favourite; I can’t imagine him without Annabeth though, so swooning is allowed only in private.

6.Moon Called (Patricia Briggs) – Adam is sexy. And that is all you need to know.

7.Daughter of Smoke and Bone (Laini Taylor) – Akiva is a tragic character I have a weakness for, so he’s on the list. I doubt that many would swoon at his feet since his track record is less than stellar.

8.Across the Nightingale Floor (Lian Hearn) – Shigeru in particular is a man I’d respect, admire, and crush on, but Takeo has his strenghts too. I’d pick Shigeru any time for his absolute loyalty to his lady love.

9.To Kill a Mockingbird (Harper Lee) – Atticus Finch is the best man you’d ever meet.

10.Cry Wolf (Patricia Briggs) – Charles grows on you slowly but then he makes you a fan for lifetime.

4 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. North and South, sigh. I saw the miniseries first and just fell in love with Richard Armitage’s portrayal of Thornton. “Look back, look back at me!” I love the book too, but that series has a hold on me for sure!

Leave a Reply

