Book Haul

This week I’ve bought the following books; the first two I got from The Book Depository, the last one I bought at a local bookstore. They received a ton of shiny new titles. My wallet was in serious danger but I resisted the temptation, knowing I should keep the money for e-books instead. 😀

a

a

a

a

 

 

I got these beauties:

The Giver (Lois Lowry)

– I’ve seen this book in several lists and my curiosity got the better of me.

Jonas’ world is perfect. Everything is under control. There is no war or fear or pain. There are no choices. Every person is assigned a role in the Community. When Jonas turns twelve, he is singled out to receive special training from The Giver. The Giver alone holds the memories of the true pain and pleasure of life. Now, it is time for Jonas to receive the truth. There is no turning back.

The Ambassadors (Henry James)

– I plan to slowly buy Oxford Classics I’m interested in. I’m on the lookout for bargains on Book Depository.

Lambert Strether, a mild middle-aged American of no particular achievements, is dispatched to Paris from the manufacturing empire of Woollett, Massachusetts. The mission conferred on him by his august patron, Mrs. Newsome, is to discover what, or who, is keeping her son Chad in the notorious city of pleasure, and to bring him home. But Strether finds Chad transformed by the influence of a remarkable woman; and as the Parisian spring advances, he himself succumbs to the allure of the ‘vast bright Babylon’ and to the mysterious charm of Madame de Vionnet.

The Citadel (Kate Mosse)

– no more library copies! I’ve got the whole trilogy now.

CITADEL transports us right to the southern-most edge of France – and to an amazing adventure set at key points in history in this scarred land right on the Spanish border.Combining the rugged action of LABYRINTH with the haunting mystery of SEPULCHRE, CITADEL is a story of daring and courage, of lives risked for beliefs, of unlocking secrets buried by time. Through history, this ‘green land washed red by blood’ has seen so much – not least the bravery of the men and women who smuggled exiles out of occupied France and away from the Nazi regime over the border into Spain.

I’ve also snagged some Kindle Freebies, but I’ll leave those for my February post.

Leave a Reply

