Currently Reading

I’m reading two books this week, having a bit of a breather before the next exam. I’m amazed at the number of books I’ve managed to finish this month, actually, these two being number 10 and 11.

47212

Storm Front by Jim Butcher

Reading challenge: Goodreads Choice Award Challenge 2014

This is the first book in the Dresden Files, a great urban fantasy series I’ve wanted to read for a long time, so any excuse is good enough. It’s got a rugged wizard, spirits, and dark forces, not to mention lots of sarcastic humour. It’s perfect and I love it already.

Goodreads profile

a

a

1128093

The Harsh Cry of the Heron by Lian Hearn

This book is a fourth installment in The Tale of the Otori, a series I mistakenly thought to be completed with the third book. Imagine my surprise when I realised there is one more! I was torn between joy and dismay for not having a clue about it. Goodreads surely came through with this one. 😀

The book transitions into the story from where it left off in the previous books with surprising smoothness; it felt like no time at all had passed since I last read the books. The characters felt close to me and I remembered each one, albeit with different amount of detail. The author does a good job of reminding me in a very unobtrusive way when my memory falls short – I love it. 😀

Goodreads profile

Leave a Reply

