Currently Reading

I’ve decided to start a new meme this year, following the good old book blogging tradition of showcasing books you are reading at the time and which you really like. It is the perfect substitute for  my Song of the Week meme of the past year. I’ve decided to really hit it off with book blogging so it is only right I write more about books.

2526

Blindness by Jose Saramago

Reading challenge: Bralnica

Goodreads synopsis:

From Nobel Prize–winning author José Saramago, a magnificent, mesmerizing parable of loss

A city is hit by an epidemic of “white blindness” that spares no one. Authorities confine the blind to an empty mental hospital, but there the criminal element holds everyone captive, stealing food rations and assaulting women. There is one eyewitness to this nightmare who guides her charges—among them a boy with no mother, a girl with dark glasses, a dog of tears—through the barren streets, and their procession becomes as uncanny as the surroundings are harrowing. As Blindness reclaims the age-old story of a plague, it evokes the vivid and trembling horrors of the twentieth century, leaving readers with a powerful vision of the human spirit that’s bound both by weakness and exhilarating strength.

I really like the dystopian story, even though it talks about people going blind; it’s one of my deepest fears, really. I’m very short-sighted – it’s hereditary, unfortunately – and I used to get stronger prescriptions almost every year until I passed puberty. It’s scary, especially as I was told at the age of 10 that I have increased fluid pressure in my eyes. It can lead to blindness if left untreated, so my fears aren’t that unfounded. The novel has thereofe captured my imagination.

The characters are an interesting mix of genders, age and professions. The way they cope with the sudden blindness ranges from all kinds of reactions; some are angry, some a re lost and heart-broken, and some seek to gain money from the afflicted. I already love the doctor’s wife for her courage and loyalty to her husband. The most fascinating of all is how the government reacts to a sudden epidemic; it is both shocking and brutal.

I will let you know more about the book in my review. 😀

3 responses to “Currently Reading

  1. Interesting! I haven’t heard about this book before. I don’t think I’ll complete this challenge for Bralnica this month..

    I’m very short-sighted too, I’ve been at the doctor only last week and she said it didn’t get any worse in more than a year!That really made my day 😀 I hope it won’t get any worse from now on.. Blindness is one of my biggest fear too.

    • I’m happy for you. It’s scary to notice you are loosing your eyesight bit by bit. On the other hand, I’ve recently read there’s a statistical correlation between poor eyesight and high IQ. 😀

      I hope you’ll have more luck in next month’s challenge!

      • Yes, it was really scary for me, and I’m the only one in my family with such poor eyesight..I really hope it stops getting worse now.
        Hahah, that’s really nice 😀 I do wish sometimes I wasn’t so smart 😀

Leave a Reply

