Top Ten Tuesday

Top Ten Tuesday – Books I’d Recommend to Anyone

This is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

Today’s post is about books I would recommend to specific readers. I’ve made a selection of my favourite titles and authors, which I hope will delight and educate at the same time. I can’t help myself – I love to make people think about different issues, experience new things.

tumblr_mgqk47Wz2n1qzj51vo1_500

In short order, here are my selections:

  1. Cloud Atlas for readers delighting in multiple tales and distinct voices. I can’t recommend this more than I already did in previous posts. I believe this will be one of the books which touched me the deepest.
  2. Good Omens for anyone looking for a fun read, especially readers who have watched Supernatural at some point. This version of Crowley will make you laugh out loud time and time again. It’s a fantastic tale I must reread one of these days. 😀
  3. The Lovely Bones for anyone looking for a poignant tale that will deeply touch your emotions. It is a study in grief and the impact people have on others, even when they have left this world.
  4. The Book Thief for readers looking for a great story about parental love and friendship in times of rampant hate and discrimination. You’ll love these characters, the somewhat experimental style and ending notwithstanding.
  5. The Help is for people who need a happy ending and tons of fun stories. There’s lots of moral lessons in here, but don’t let that distract you from the fun.
  6. The Poisonwood Bible is for those who want to read about life in Congo before the unrests destroyed the society, and about white people out of their comfort zones. It’s a story about a dysfunctional family and relationships, but also about love and social justice.       
  7. Tess of d’Urbervilles is one of my favourites, as stated in previous posts. I think that everyone should read this literature masterpiece.
  8. Dune for all sci-fi fans out there. It’s a classic I’m really glad I got to read this year, now I just have to get my hands on a physical copy of the book for my collection of favourite titles.
  9. World War Z for all dystopia and zombie affectionados. It’s an interesting take on the genre, with far more realistic elements and scenarios in here than imagined. Disregard the movie since it’s quite clearly just ‘inspired by’ the book, showing some gross inaccuracies. I was quite annoyed when watching it and consider it an affront to the book.
  10. Silmarillion for those who just can’t get enough of Elves and Tolkien’s Middle Earth. Truly a wonderful collection of stories and mythology that will make you hunger for more.
3 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday

    • I really enjoyed The Help, and the movie version is fantastic as well, which is quite rare these days. The writing shouldn’t disappoint. 😉

  1. Thank you for recommendations, now I have all of them on my to-read list, if I haven’t read them already 🙂 except for Silmarillion, because I still have Lord of the Rings to read.

Leave a Reply

