Top Ten Tuesday – Best/worst series Enders

This is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

There are many series and trilogies I’ve yet to finish or which have yet to get the last instalment, so this meme turned out to be quite difficult in a way. I therefore compromised and decided to judge the series by their latest books.

Best endings of a series:

1.       Lord of the Rings by J. R. R. Tolkien

A logical choice really; who could ever argue the ending to this long tale is not a suitable one? I love the trilogy and the Hobbits, Elves and other people in it.

2.       His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman

Some people don’t like the last book since it moves in unexpected directions, and the ending leaves them disappointed. It certainly made me sad, but it is fitting, poignant. The book is an interesting read (as are all) and I was satisfied with how it concluded the fascinating series.

3.       Tales of the Otori by Lean Hearn

This fantasy series set in feudal Japan fascinates me even today and I’ve reread the first one many times. I love the atmosphere, the setting and the characters. The last book of the trilogy resolves many of the conflicts yet still gives us a hopeful open ending. There’s been a surprise fourth installment that I knew nothing of until this year when I started using Goodreads regularly. Plan to get my hands on it ASAP.

Best latest instalments:

1.       Mercedes Thompson by Patricia Briggs

The latest book (Frost Burned) keeps the series going as strong as ever. I am eagerly awaiting the next one.

2.       Alpha and Omega by Patricia Briggs

This is a tie-in series to the previous one and I really loved the latest book: Fair Game. The pairing is fantastic and one of my favourites.

3.       The Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan

The Mark of Athena is the last book in this series I read but the sequel is coming out today. Be sure I’m getting my hands on it ASAP. The cliff-hanger at the end is not to be endured easily.

Worst endings of a series:

1.       Earth’s Children by Jean M. Auel

The series is not a masterpiece or a brilliant piece of writing, but the potential of the first book was miserably squandered one sequel at the time. The last book utterly destroyed the series for me.

2.       The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The ending chapter somehow did not sit well with me. Frankly, I had a lot of problems with the latest book since so many things went wrong during it, so much character death and transformations. It did not give me a very good feeling. I still love the series, but it could be done better.

3.       Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling

That epilogue did not happen.

Leave a Reply

