Top Ten Tuesday

Books On My Fall To-Read List

I’m back with the weekly meme from the amazing blog The Broke and the Bookish.

I’ve got a bunch of books on my to-read list (in fact my to-read pile on Goodreads is far bigger than my read pile) and I pick them up as my mood suits me. This is one of the reasons why I’m not that great at sticking to any kind of lists (and why I’m woefully behind my Goodreads Choice Award Challenge). Still, there is some kind of logic behind my choices, so making a list of books that I should definitely finish before winter sets in isn’t that hard. I’m also encouraged by the fact that I managed to finish 8 out of 10 books from my summer list. Yay!

This particular list can be divided into several categories:

Book Series (either starting books or last ones)

I love book series, trilogies, or just any books that promise a good sequel. I always want more than one book if it’s particularly good since it’s hard to part with amazing characters. I’ve long wanted to re-read Sabriel and finish the series, but I’m equally excited about starting new ones.

  1. Sabriel – #1 Abhorsen series (Garth Nix)
  2. Wolf Hall – #1 Thomas Cromwell series (Hilary Mantel)
  3. Touch of Power – #1 Healer series (Maria V. Snyder)
  4. Citadel – #3 Languedoc series (Kate Mosse)

Goodreads-Choice-Awards-best-books-of-2012-selected-by-Goodreads-readers

Goodreads Choice Award Challenge

This is my first year participating and I’ve given myself a modest goal – read 12 books from the list. So far I’ve managed around 8; I’d really love to pass the final number and manage around 15.

  1. The Light between Oceans (M. L. Stedman)
  2. The Long Earth (Terry Pratchett)
  3. A Discovery of Witches (Deborah Harkness)

Boxall’s 1001 Books You Must Read before You Die

This one’s a life-long challenge. I doubt I’ll read all of them, but the list is a good inspiration for me and my literary education. I’ve read several new sci-fi books this year thanks to this list and I hope to finish many more. I’ve been doing some calculations and decided that reading around 25 of the list books a year should make me finish the list in about 40 years. I’ll still be alive then. 😀 So far I’ve managed to read 62, but who knows what the number will be at the end of the year. The ones I particularly look forward to are the following:

  1. The Master and Margarita (Mikhail Bulgakov)
  2. Life of Pi (Yann Martel)
  3. Cloud Atlas (David Mitchell)
4 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. You have some good books on this list–Life of Pi and Cloud Atlas are both very thought-provoking, and The Long Earth is fascinating–and has a sequel out.

    1,001 books huh? Sounds like a life challenge, indeed!

    • I hope I’ll get my hands on Life of Pi and Cloud Atlas soon – either buying paperbacks or hunting down a copy at the library. I was kind of putting The Long Earth on the backburner, but now I’m definitely tackling it.

      Life challenges should be fun and what you love to do. 😉

  2. This 1001 Books You Must Read Before You Die list changes every few years, right? I need to check on Wikipedia to see if they have the newest list. I’m curious to see how many of them I’ve read 🙂
    You’ve got some great books planned for this autumn. I’ve only read Life of Pi and The Light Between Oceans, I really liked them both (gave them 4/5 stars).

  3. The list gets updated each year, I think, but the majority of books remains the same. I also heard there are regional varieties so there are definitely more than 1001 books on the list.

    I’m really looking forward to reading ‘Life of Pi’ yet I begin to despair of ever finishing this list (although I have 3 months to do so). I’ve already brought home 5 books that are definitely NOT on my fall reading list…(but on my GR to-read list) Bummer.

Leave a Reply

