Book Review 10 – The Handmaid’s Tale

The Handmaid’s Tale

(Margaret Atwood)

Rated: 5 stars

Amazing book! I wish everyone would read it, but there’s also a very good movie adaptation out there that I’ve reviewed a while ago. Here’s the link to the lengthy post – Popcorn Bowl 07. You’ll find all I really need to say about the topic there, so I hope you’ll read it. Beware of some spoilers.

handmaid11

The movie is a bit dated, but still very faithful to the book, much to my surprise. It does not explain how the sudden revolution came about, as the book did in a somewhat scattered way, but it does offer a visual representation of the class distinctions and expands some aspects of the book that really intrigued me. I really liked the writing style and I’m definitely checking out other novels by the author.

Definitely one of my favourites!

Goodreads link:

Leave a Reply

