Book Review 08 – Mercy Thompson Series

images (1)Mercy Thompson Series

(Patricia Briggs)

Rating: 5 stars

This is an urban fantasy series that successfully incorporates a myriad of creatures from werewolves, fairies, vampires, ghosts, to witches and shifters (skin-walkers). It may sound chaotic, but it isn’t since we are introduced to them in small segments that feel organic and natural. It also helps that the Fae have been known to the world for a long time, so the existence of other creatures does not come as much of a shock to the people, and the government as well is prepared in its own way. Each book explores these supernatural beings in some way, so there’s always something new to look forward to in terms of world-building.

The protagonist is an interesting woman named Mercedes Thompson, Mercy in short. Her half-native heritage is a burst of fresh wind in the genre, not mentioning the fact that she’s a competent mechanic. She’s independent, opinionated and smart. She knows which rules to break, and which to heed. To top this off, she can also shift into a coyote. When we first meet her she works in a garage owned by a unique Fae who can work with iron, one of the deadliest things for them and the reason why they had to come out to humans. If that weren’t enough, her neighbour is the local werewolf alpha, and her friend a vampire.

The chemistry between Mercy and Adam Hauptman, the alpha, is amazing. She’s not easy to impress, so he’s got his work cut out for him. Mercy loves her freedom too much to get involved with a werewolf. She grew up with them after all, so she knows their instincts and customs, and their hierarchy is the reason she moved as far away from them as possible. In fact, all she really wants in her life is to live in peace, but that wish is not easily granted. Some way or another she’s dragged into the complicated politics of the wolf packs, Fae, vampires and so on. The situation differs each time and the repercussions take a while to work over.


The supporting characters are wonderful as well and very diverse. We got people of all colours and ages, levels of education, homosexual and heterosexual men and women, people who are prejudiced, open, wounded, and suspicious… No one is perfect – they have flaws, personal histories, issues and troubles. They must work through them, just as Mercy has to come to terms with her own life.

I love the intricate web that connects all this together. Its’ no easy life for either side; humans are right to fear the supernatural, yet the beings have troubles all their own, sometimes even more complicated ones. Mercy attracts trouble from both sides – it’s her coyote side, she’s told. She’s crafty and smart, so we can bet she’ll find a way to weasel through. In what conditions he’ll be in the end is, however, debatable. It helps she’s got all kinds of friends and allies in unexpected places. She may be just a pawn at times, but she does her best to be her own person. That she’s got a wicked sense of humour is a plus. It keeps her humble.

Usually, I wouldn’t go for a book with so many creatures running around – it sounds kind of implausible – here it works out perfectly. The universe itself is balanced between the supernatural and mundane. This is definitely a great series, so I recommend it for your reading. I hope you enjoy it as well as me.


There are 7 books published so far, but the story is far from over. Here are the links to Goodreads reviews of the books:

  1. Moon Called
  2. Blood Bound
  3. Iron Kissed
  4. Bone Crossed
  5. Silver Borne
  6. River Marked
  7. Frost Burned

Here are the links to two other useful websites:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s