Reading A Tale of Two Cities

I’ve started the novel by Charles Dickens a few days ago and have already reached book 3. So far I’m satisfied with the plot and the characters, simplistic though they may seem at times. I believe the climax of the novel and its true value will be revealed shortly when the two worlds collide. What amazed me is how easy it is to imagine the events play out like a movie. Dickens describes poverty, hunger and depression of the French lower classes vividly. I can understand their bloodthirst. I may not condone it, but I do understand it. Perhaps my view is biased by knowing just how much blood will be spilled by the end.

Leave a Reply

