10 Books I Must Read This Summer

Here’s the list of books I’ve decided to finish in the next three months. It’s an ambitious plan when there are so much more exciting things to do during the long summer days and balmy nights. I can already think of several… However, if I don’t set high goals for myself, how am I going to ever accomplish anything? It will be a challenge, and I’ll be really pleased if I manage to read six, since several of the books are quite thick – bricks I’d say, even.

A discerning eye will immediately see that the list consists of almost nothing but literature classics, which is kind of odd for summer reading. I find that reading classics is as much an exercise in broadening my mind (and a pleasure) as it is an attempt to learn the writing craft by sheer osmosis. 😀 Have no doubt I’ll read several contemporary novels, too; I’ll be hard pressed not to.

Here’s the list, with links to Goodreads:

  1. Agnes Grey (Brontë)
  2. A Tale of Two Cities (Dickens)
  3. Les Misérables (Hugo)
  4. Mary Barton (Gaskell)
  5. Middlemarch (Eliot)
  6. The Alchemist (Coelho)
  7. The French Lieutenant’s Woman (Fowles)
  8. The Handmaid’s Tale (Atwood)
  9. The Pillars of Earth (Follett)
  10. The Poisonwood Bible (Kingsolver)

I purchased these books in either paperback or digital edition this year, so they deserve to be read now that almost half of the year is over. I already plan to tackle the library shelves for a winter reading list so I’ll not get bankrupt for my book obsession.

What are you going to read this summer?

 

4 responses to “10 Books I Must Read This Summer

    • I’m really glad that I’ve chosen some good books.
      I actually started reading Middlemarch at one point in March or so, but I had to put it on hold. I hope to continue soon but I’ll probably finish it after you.

  1. Pingback: Book Review 12 – Middlemarch | swytla·

Leave a Reply

