Movie Anticipation 05 – World War Z

A book to movie adaptation that promises lots of action and gory stuff combined with family drama and so on. A dystopia, if I ever saw one. That this movie’s director is the one who directed District 9 (one of my favourites) is just icing on the cake.

world-war-z-poster-story

I have the book on my to-read list although I’m not sure now if I should read it before watching the movie or not. On the one hand I love a good book and story, on the other I don’t like being spoiled too much regarding the plot points and mysteries in a movie. The trouble is that I’m not sure I’d pick up the book if the movie is truly phenomenal. Decisions, decisions…

World War Z appears to be all a truly horrifying dystopia should be, although I’m not really sure the zombies should be this organized to overtake the gigantic fence or jump on helicopters, but hey, what do I know? There are so many different zombies running around on our TV and big screens that it is hard to keep up. They certainly have taken over for the declining vampire genre; I’m just waiting for the werewolves to make a strong appearance one of these days… Or will it be demons? Fairies? I don’t know – the fantasy genre certainly has many tropes movie makers can exploit in the future.

2 responses to “Movie Anticipation 05 – World War Z

  1. Definitely give it a read before seeing the film! The trailer looks good, but nothing like the book. It’s crying out to be made into a TV series.

    • Thank you for the advice! 😀
      As it happens, I finished the book just yesterday. Couldn’t help myself – I got too curious to stay away. Can I say wow? It’s something extraordinary and I really loved it.
      I definitely agree that it deserves to be adapted into a TV series, and what a series it would be. The Walking Dead – here’s some strong competition coming for you.

Leave a Reply

