Make Good Art – Neil Gaiman speech 2012

I’ve gone through some of my notes from last year and came across one of the best finds of last year. It made me feel really good about my stumbling in the dark as an author. It’s still one of the best speeches I’ve heard in a long time (and which none came even close to all these months since I’ve heard it), so I decided to share it with you. 😀

It’s Neil Gaiman’s inspirational commencement speech of 2012 at University of the Arts

Video:

Here are some of the highlights (don’t read if you dislike spoilers):
You can use them as quotes, if you like. I’ve paraphrased some of them.

“Make good art. Do only what you can do best. Make good art. And while you’re at it, make your art. Make only the stuff you can do.” – Neil Gaiman

“People get hired because somehow they get hired. In my case when asked who I have written for before – I lied. And I made it my personal code of honour to make something for those magazines I’ve lied about, so that I hadn’t actually lied, I was only chronologically challenged.” – Neil Gaiman

“People keep working because their work is good, and because they are easy to get along with, and because they deliver the work on time. And you don’t even need all three. Two out of three is fine. People will tolerate how unpleasant you are if your work is good and you deliver it on time. People will forgive the lateness of your work if it’s good and they like you. And you don’t have to be as good as anyone else if you’re on time and it’s always a pleasure to hear from you.” – Neil Gaiman

“Pretend you are someone who can do it. Not pretend to do it, but pretend you are someone who could.” (Advice to a struggling artist) – Neil Gaiman

“Be wise because the world needs more wisdom. And if you cannot be wise, pretend to be someone who is wise and then just behave like they would.” – Neil Gaiman

Leave a Reply

