Movie Anticipation 02 – Rurouni Kenshin

It’s been years since I’ve watched the anime and the two OVA’s, and suffered a serious withdrawal. You can imagine my joy when I heard of a life-action movie a few months ago. The favourable reviews only sparked my enthusiasm more. I’m staying away from them now since I don’t want to be spoiled. I was lucky so far, which is not something I’ve always managed before.

I’m waiting eagerly for the DVD release since there’s little hope for the movie to be actually screened in my country. It opened on 20th August in Japan.
Photobucket
The trailers look very faithful to the manga and anime, which is a plus in my book. Somehow I have become wary of very loose adaptations. It smacks of laziness – like the scriptwriters couldn’t be bothered to come up with something new themselves. So, why butcher the original when it is good as it is? If an adaptation is good though (think BBC Sherlock), I’m all for it.

They’ve done an amazing job with the casting and the script for this movie, though.  I love how it looks and feels in the trailers, but reserve a privilege to change my mind and opinion after actually watching it. I’ve been fooled before, though reviews make it unlikely this time.

Rurouni Kenshin is interesting also because it contains an untypical samurai portrayal. Visual gender distinctions are reversed – Kimura Kenshin looks quite effeminate. After all, who says a samurai must look like the giant Aoshi? Kaoru as well is a spunky, independent girl – very different from the average Japanese woman of the Meiji era.So, I hope to get my hands on the DVD and enjoy ancient Japan once again. Since the US are going to get the movie in cinemas, maybe my wait will not be overly long. Just please no dubbed version – I like original voices far more than the ones other languages settle on. The German LOTR  comes to mind here – the voices of their voice actors were so disimilar with the english cast that it was impossible for me to watch it when they played the movie on the TV.But enough of that; here’s the trailer for the movie:

Leave a Reply

