NaNoWriMo – Update 02 and A Late (very late) Grape Harvest

Tomorrow I’m going to be away from NaNoWriMo.  I’ll be in my uncle’s vineyard for the very, very late grape harvest. My bucket and pair of scissors will be used for the second time this year. It’s a bizarre notion.

dyk-1june-01dyk-1june-02I’ve picked grapes or helped in the kitchen every autumn as long as I can remember, but I’ve never before participated in this kind of a harvest. It will be a first for me and I can honestly say I’m a bit sceptical. Yes, I’ve picked grapes that were overly-ripe, mouldy from excess of rain and humidity in a particularly bad season, half eaten by birds or wasps and so on, but I’ve never picked raisins. And raisins it’s going to be, I think. My mother was already told there will be sticks involved for whatever reason. Now I imagine it’ll be like harvesting olives: “Beat the shit out of them!” No, that’s not what I picture under the label ‘grape harvest’. Thank the Stars there will be no ice wine because I really, truly don’t like the thought of freezing out there in December.

1293_medium

What I do like in all this is the social aspect of the event. And baking, lot’s of backing involved. In fact, my mother, brother and I will be busy preparing small rolls, almond pastries and some apple pie. 😀 I do love me some apple pie, as Dean would say.

As for NaNoWriMo; I’ve written several passages into my notebook. I just need to transfer them to my word file and write some sentences to link them together. This is one of the reasons my word-count is so terribly low still. But I am panicking that I won’t get near the required number. *sigh*

ETA: I’ve looked up some pictures for the post – yes, it’s going to be a mouldy affair.
Riesling harvest will never be the same again.

Leave a Reply

